Shake-up: 32 top prisons officers elevated, redeployed


The Comptroller- General of the Nigerian Prisons Service (NPS), Mr Ja’afaru Ahmed, has ordered immediate redeployment of 32 senior officers  who were recently elevated to the position of Deputy Comptrollers General of the Prisons Service.

A statement by the Public Relations Officer of the NPS, Mr Francis Enobore on Wendesday in Abuja said this was contained in a posting instruction issued on the 1st of August, 2017 and signed by the CGP.

He said this followed the need to have the recently promoted Deputy Controllers General take charge as substantive Directorate heads and also address some administrative gaps pursuant to the present administration’s drive for excellent service delivery.

In the posting, DCG Shehu Kangiwa heads the Finance & Account Directorate while DCG Dorathy Atagiri takes charge of the Directorate of Health & Social Welfare Services.

ALSO READ  Governors of oil producing states owing salaries shocking – Ondo aspirant

DCG MBE Shemfe heads the Directorate of Operations and DCG Charles Ahaotu heads Works & Logistics Directorate. DCG Ogundana Jerome who was the Zonal Coordinator in charge of Zone A Lagos now takes charge of the Directorate of Inmates Training & Productivity.

Others include, ACG Emmanuel Ogundele mni who takes over Prisons Academy, Ijebu-Igbo as Commandant, ACG KA Babalola moves to Zone A, Lagos as Zonal Coordinator. ACG AI Omale, CP Bukar Shettima Hauwa and CP KN Okuori proceed on retirement.

The redeployment also affected 21 other senior officers across board.

Recall that on 14th July, 2017, 5 Assistant Controllers General promoted to the rank of Deputy Controllers General of Prisons were formally decorated by the Honourable Minister of Interior, Lt. Gen. Abdulraman Bello Dambazau (retd), CFR, PhD.

“Ja’afaru while wishing the retiring officers well in their future endeavours charged the Directorate heads and other command officers to deploy all available resources at their disposal in order to add value to their output,” the statement said.

ALSO READ  Ex-CJN, Dahiru Musdapher, dies at 75