After swearing in 13 new judicial officers, Lagos high court now has 37 judges

Judge white wig

Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Thursday, swore in 13 newly appointed judges of the Lagos High Court, urging them to be upright and fair in dispensing justice.

The 13 judges who took their oaths of office Thursday were selected from about 300 applicants who indicated interest to fill vacant slots in the Lagos High Court.

The governor who spoke at the State House, Ikeja, venue of the swearing in ceremony further advised them to reflect the highest standard of impartiality, compassion, ethical standards, and excellence that Lagos is known for in carrying out their day-to-day activities.

Sanwo-Olu spoke on a day the state chief judge, Justice Kazeem Alogba, also advised the families of the newly sworn-in judges not to put undue pressure on them so that they would be able to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

This is as the chief judge commended the governor for understanding the independence of the judiciary.

Also at the occasion, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in Lagos, Lawal Pedro, noted that Sanwo-Olu’s administration recognised the people’s desire for a justice system that works and has been working along that line.

Giving a vote of assurance on behalf of the new judges, Justice Fimisola Azeez, appreciated the National Judicial Council (NJC) for recommending them to the Lagos State government as judges, assuring that they would abide by the constitution, extant laws, and oaths of office.

The newly sworn-in judges are:

Hon. Justice Azeez, Fimisola Augusta

Hon. Justice George, Alfred Akingbola

Hon. Justice Badejo-Okusanya, Yewande Jokotola

Hon. Justice Shonubi, Adenike Kudirat

Hon. Justice Layinka, Oyeladun Amope

Hon. Justice Sunmonu, Tunde Bashiru

Hon. Justice Adewale, Russell Musiliu

Hon. Justice Ojuromi, Nalirat Oluwatosin Olayinka

Hon. Justice Balogun, Adegboyega Ganiu

Hon. Justice Anjorin-Ajose, Tanimola AbdulWaheed

Hon. Justice Alebiosu, Olawale Lawal

Hon. Justice Muyideen, Abdul-Raheem Tejumade

Hon. Justice Popoola, Oluwatosin Ajose

The 13 new judges brought to 37 the number of judges appointed under the Sanwo-Olu administration in the last five years.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2348179614306 Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here